Twelve Bar Blues

I wish I’d finished reading Twelve Bar Blues.

Instead my life was fed on lesser books

and scant attention paid to daily news.

 

Most book worms see a Potter tome and snooze,

I think Rowling’s better than she looks –

but – I wish I’d finished reading Twelve Bar Blues.

 

My friends converse in riddles, I’m confused.

They say all politicians are just crooks.

Oh, I wished I’d paid attention to the news!

 

I’m side tracked by exciting stories. Whose

characters’ adventures always hook

me out of novels such as Twelve Bar Blues.

 

Some mop top blonde man’s telling us his views

of how his mayoral manifesto looks.

I’m so bored with following the daily news!

 

Most summer reads of mine barely amuse

me enough to justify their book shelf nook.

So – this summer I WILL finish twelve bar blues

And TRY to pay attention to the news.

 

I promise.

Leave a Reply

